Tutorial How to bypass Pairip protections, LATEST (too easy)

NotAWeeb!

1/3 Games Approved
Original poster
Aug 31, 2023
japaneseland
Welcome, ladies and gentleman! :pepe019:

As of today, only having uploaded a mod out of the 3 required to become an Approved Modder, you may think I have little to no experience at modding. Let me tell ya, I'm just waiting to be truly advanced, so I'm a box full of surprises :face33:

I recently learnt the easiest way to bypass every pairip protection. And it's dead easy.

What's pairip?

Pairip, better known as the feared and improved signature and license verification protection, is a Google's creation that assures the APK / XAPK files from recent apps suffer no modification. It's often encountered in apps and games from the Play Store. It's probably a (bad) attempt to stop us, the modders, from creating MOD APK files.

There's not much information regarding all the protections, but it removes some parts of the game if a modification is detected (that's why you suffer black screen crashes and at the logcat they're produced by memory access violations) and it tries to safeguard certain libs' data by removing and restoring that data in real time as you play or use the app, thus creating another layer of protection and making it harder to make any modification attempts.

You can check if your game has pairip protection by extracting or decompiling the APK (or the APK that has the libs, extracting it first from the XAPK), then look at the "lib/architecture" folder. You should find a lib called "libpairipcore.so".

This little mf and its smali buddies are responsible for your failed attempts to merge your XAPK file to an APK, crashes every time you patch the libs, add new files or lines of code, etc.

It took me a while until I noticed pairip was the responsible for all of my failed attempts at modding an il2cpp game, so I took my time to figure a bypass that turned out to be too easy.